Professor of Electrical and Electronics Engineering
President of Koç University




B.S., Middle East Technical University, Turkey (1972)
M.S., Middle East Technical University, Turkey (1973)
Ph.D., Stanford University (1977) Ph.D Thesis


9/09- President, Koç University
9/97- 9/09 Director, Space, Telecommunications and Radioscience (STAR) Laboratory
9/92- Professor of Electrical Engineering (EE), Stanford University
9/85- 8/92 Associate Professor of EE, Stanford University
9/82- 8/85 Assistant Professor of EE, Stanford University
2/81- 3/81 Research Associate, EE Dept., Stanford University
4/81- 8/82 Acting Assistant Professor of EE, Stanford University
9/80- 1/81 Assistant Professor of EE, Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey
9/78- 8/80 Acting Assistant Professor of EE, Stanford University
9/77- 8/78 Research Affiliate, EE Dept., Stanford University


Engineering Electromagnetics, Addison Wesley, July 1998
Electromagnetic Waves, Prentice Hall, August 1999

Principles of Plasma Physics for Engineers and Scientists

Numerical Electromagnetics


American Physical Society (APS) Fellow, 2009
Appleton Prize of the International Union of Radio Science and Royal Society of London, July 2008
Allan Cox Medal of Stanford for Faculty Excellence in Fostering Undergraduate Research, June 2007
Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), December 2006
Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), November 2006
European Space Agency (ESA) Certificate of Recognition (CLUSTER), September 2005
NASA Group Achievement Award (CLUSTER), August 2004
Ionospheric Effects Symposium, Most Outstanding Paper Award, May 1999
Stanford Tau Beta Pi Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching June 1998
NASA Group Achievement Award (POLAR), June 1998
NSF and Department of the Navy Antarctic Service Medal, August 1993
Young Scientist Award of the International Union of Radio Science, September 1984
NASA Group Achievement Award (Dynamics Explorer), October 1983
Outstanding service award of the Electrical Engineering Department for excellence in teaching (1978)


Principal investigator on several research grants sponsored by Office of Naval Research (ONR), NSF Division of Polar Programs, NSF Division of Atmospheric Sciences, NASA Space Physics Division, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, and the Air Force Geophysics Laboratory. Current research projects include: (i) optical observations of high altitude plasma discharges and optical emissions known as sprites and elves, (ii) ground based VLF remote sensing of lightning-induced disturbances in ionospheric plasma and precipitation of energetic electrons at multiple sites across the United States, Canada and Antarctic, (iii) studies of HF radio wave heating of ionospheric plasma, (iv) interpretation of plasma wave and energetic particle data from low and high altitude satellites, (v) theoretical modeling of gyroresonant wave-particle interactions in the magnetosplasma, (vi) ELF/VLF observations of plasma waves at unmanned observatories in Antarctica and on ocean-based autonmous buoys, and (vii) investigations and computer simulation of energy efficieny of plasma display panels.



Student Awards: N. Lehtinen received the First Prize in the URSI/USNC Student Prize Paper Competition in January 1999 and S. Reising received the same prize in January 1998. Y. Taranenko received AGU's F. L. Scarf award for his dissertation work. V. Pasko selected as a CEDAR post-doc fellow 1996-98. M. Spasojevic selected as GEM post-doc fellow 2005-07. Sixteen students received AGU Best Student Paper Awards since 1993.

Teaching: Professor Inan currently teaches courses on Engineering Electromagnetics (EE141), Electromagnetic Waves (EE142), Elementary Plasma Physics (EE356), and Numerical Electromagnetics (EE256). In previous years he has also taught a number of other courses, including Fourier Transforms and Applications (EE261), Microwave Engineering (EE246), Antennas for Telecommunications and Remote Sensing (EE252), and Statistical Signal Processing (EE278). Course descriptions are available here.


Vice-President of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI)
Immediate Past Chair of the United States National Committee (USNC) of URSI
Fellow, American Geophysical Union (AGU)
Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Chairman, United States National Committee (USNC) of URSI, 2002-2005
International Chairman of Commission H (Waves in Plasmas) of URSI, 2002-2005
Chairman, Commission H of USNC/URSI, 1996-1999
U. S. Representative to the Solar Terrestrial and Astrophysical Research Working Group of the Scientific Committee for Antarctic Research (SCAR), 1998-2004
Member, American Physical Society
Member, The Electromagnetics Academy, Sigma Xi, Tau Beta Pi


President, Koç University, 2009-
Member, Executive Committee of Electrical Engineering Department, 1997-2009
Director, Space, Telecomunications and Radioscience Laboratory, 1997-2009
Elected First Alternate Member, Stanford University Senate, 2008-2010
Chairman, Broad Area Faculty Search Committee for EE Department, 2002-2003
Elected Member, Stanford University Senate, 2004-06
Chair, Broad Area Faculty Search Committee of the EE Department, 2002-04
Chairman, Committee on Research of the Academic Council, 1998-2000
Member, Committee on Research of the Academic Council, 1996-1998


Office: Koç University Rumelifeneri Yolu 34950 Sarıyer Istanbul
Phone: +90 212 338 12 13
  +90 212 338 12 15